Skip to content

Choquette-Symcox Award

The Choquette-Symcox Award is an initiative of the late Fernand Choquette and of Peter J.F. Symcox in honour of their shared love for music. This award was created in 2010 to support the career development of emerging artists from Quebec. The award includes a $5,000 bursary.
 
A native of Montreal, Fernand Choquette developed a passion for poetry and drama and an enthusiasm for classical music early on in life. He joined Radio-Canada in 1955 and rapidly established himself among the most accomplished producer-director of documentaries.
 
Director, producer, set designer, and critic, Peter Symcox has been an adjudicator for various drama festivals, and has contributed articles to newspapers and periodicals, including The Montreal Star and Opera Canada. Shortly after his arrival in Montreal in 1953, he was hired as a set designer for CBC TV and later became a producer of music programs. He currently lives in Victoria, BC.
 

List of the laureates

2016 : Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano
2015 : Jean-Philippe Fortier-Lazure, tenor
2014 : Daniel Clark-Bouchard, piano
2013 : Stéphane Tétreault, cello
2012 : Marie-Eve Munger, soprano
2011 : Philippe Sly, barython-bass
2010 : Tomislav Lavoie, bass

Share this page

Aller au contenu

Prix Choquette-Symcox

Le Prix Choquette-Symcox est le fruit de l’initiative conjointe de feu Fernand Choquette et de Peter Symcox, tous deux passionnés de musique. Créé en 2010, ce prix annuel vise à soutenir un jeune artiste québécois dans son développement de carrière. Il est accompagné d’une bourse d’excellence de 5000 $.

Natif de Montréal, Fernand Choquette a rapidement développé une passion pour la poésie et le théâtre, de même qu’un grand enthousiasme pour la musique classique. Entré à la Société Radio-Canada en 1955, il s’établit rapidement comme étant l’un des producteurs-réalisateurs de documentaires parmi les plus accomplis.

Metteur en scène, réalisateur, décorateur et critique, Peter Symcox a été juge à divers festivals d’art dramatique et a signé des articles dans plusieurs journaux et périodiques, dont The Montreal Star et Opera Canada. Peu après son arrivée à Montréal en 1953, il a été engagé comme décorateur à la télévision de la SRC et est devenu réalisateur d’émissions musicales.

La sélection du récipiendaire du prix se fait à partir de la recommandation d'un professeur par un comité d’octroi de bourses.

 

Liste des lauréats

2017: Magali Simard-Galdès, soprano
2016 : Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano
2015 : Jean-Philippe Fortier-Lazure, ténor
2014 : Daniel Clark-Bouchard, piano
2013 : Stéphane Tétreault, violoncelle
2012 : Marie-Eve Munger, soprano
2011Philippe Sly, baryton-basse
2010 Tomislav Lavoie, basse

Partager cette page